CHEP Review Class

Click HERE to register


The International Board for Certification of Safety Managers, also known as BCHCM, was established in 1976 as a
not-for-profit independent credentialing organization. The Board establishes certification and re-certification requirements for the CHEP and the following four credentials: Certified Healthcare Safety Professional (CHSP),
Certified Patient Safety Officer (CPSO), Certified Hazard Control Manager (CHCM), and Certified Product Safety Manager (CPSM). The Board recently established the healthcare Fire Safety Management (FSM) credential as an
“endorsement” to the CHSP. The Board operates as an independent professional credentialing organization that is not affiliated with any other membership group, association, or lobbying body. The Board exists solely for the purpose of issuing individual certifications to qualified candidates. Our mission is to “Upgrade the Profession” by offering real world and practical certifications.

CHEP Background
The Board developed the CHEP credential to meet a need for a practical but “professional certification” for healthcare emergency directors, managers, coordinators, associates, consultants, and others who work with or coordinate real world issues with the health sector. The program relies on information, standards, and best practices from reliable sources including organizations such NFPA, ASTM, DHS, EPA, OSHA, FEMA, and accrediting organizations such as the Joint Commission. Healthcare organizations need professionals that understand how emergency management principles support the healthcare environment of care, the local community, and the nation.

Applicant Qualifications
I. Applicants may qualify to sit for the exam by documenting any combination of relevant experience and college education to equal eight (8) years. The Board does require applicants to document at least three (3) years of relevant experience. Each 30 semester hours of college credit earned can be substituted for one year of experience for a maximum of three years.

  1. Applicants may qualify by documenting the award of a Baccalaureate or Graduate degree in a safety or related discipline. Applicants must document at least two (2) years of relevant experience.
    III. Applicants may qualify for the “associate level” by documenting at least four (4) years of relevant experience and education combined. The Board requires associate level applicants to document at least one year of experience unless they have a Baccalaureate or Graduate degree in a safety or related discipline. Associate level members may upgrade to the professional level when meeting published requirements. Associate level members are not required to re-take the examination to upgrade. Those desiring to upgrade must send written request to the Board and pay the
    current upgrade fee.

Relevant Experience Defined
Applicants may document “relevant experience” by working in any of the following functions, areas, or job positions: emergency response, first response, emergency management, disaster management, incident command, homeland security, healthcare safety, risk management, law enforcement, military units, fire personnel, safety management, nursing, infection control and healthcare personnel.


Apr 07 2020


8:00 am - 5:00 pm